Q. It seems that if a classmate posts for ex: a birthday greeting on a classmates profile. It shows up on Class Connection's "Whats New." I am concerned that by posting on a classmates profile, there is implied privacy. Perhaps, there should be some form of disclaimer that posting on a classmate's profile is similar to posting on a facebook wall.
A. It's a great question, so I'm glad you asked it. There is implied privacy indeed. This is of course a very important issue. Class Connection takes into account all privacy settings, just like Class Creator does. Let's look at a couple examples that can happen on Class Creator:
1) Charlie's Profile is restricted to classmates only. Brad Switzer posts a Happy Birthday Message on Charlie's Profile. Now any classmate who wishes to visit Charlie's Profile can see the message. Anyone from the public, however, attempting to visit Charlie's Profile is not allowed in, thus cannot see the Happy Birthday Message.
2) Charlie's Profile is open to the public. Brad Switzer posts a Happy Birthday Message on Charlie's Profile. Anyone on the entire Internet can now see this message, per Charlie's privacy choices.
CLASS CONNECTION (Facebook):
1) Charlie's Profile is restricted to classmates only. Brad Switzer posts a Happy Birthday Message on Charlie's Profile. The Happy Birthday message is replicated on the What's New page. All classmates viewing Charlie's Profile, or viewing the What's New page, can see the Happy Birthday Message. Anyone on Class Connection using the Visit Another Class feature can NOT see the Happy Birthday Message. Not only can they not get into Charlie's Profile, the Happy Birthday Message is NOT replicated on the What's New page because this viewer doesn't have permission to see that content. ONLY content permitted to the viewer is seen anywhere on the entire app.
2) Charlie's Profile is restricted to only classmates from the same high school.
3) Charlie's Profile is open to the public
I won't spell out 2 and 3 because it's pretty clear what they will do. The bottom line is nothing is replicated on What's New, Photos Tab, Videos tab etc. that the viewer doesn't have permission to see already.